Ready steady go!

Namaste to all you lovely people! My name is Manasi and I’m a budding Physiotherapist from India currently persuing my MSc degree at the University of Nottingham.

So, I see a lot of people starting their articles and blogs with quotes and great phrases given to us by greater people. Well, I thought to myself why not try something different,

Keep on moving

Keep climbing

Keep the faith

It’s all about the climb.

Yes, you’re right that’s a song. And if this song is what inspires me to write this blog be it. I’m going to turn the music up and let my keyboard dance on its tune!

I still remember the days when I was looking up for a master’s degree to study, and I came across the advancing practice course (the one I’m studying now). It seemed interesting and the next thing I know I was sending out emails to professors, course conveners, previous year students practically the entire university. Few months down the line and I’m packing my bags and headed here to achieve that Advanced Practitioner Title.  If only it was as easy as it sounds.

Where I come from, Physiotherapy Practice is mostly clinical. We asses our patients and then we get on with the list of things that need to be done to get the patient “moving”. And I admit, I have been practicing the same way for quite some time now. If I may add, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the way we approach or treat our patients but, I do think that we are just lacking at certain aspects of Physiotherapy. During my lectures at the University my mind kept drifting back home, thinking how would I have done this, how would have I handled a certain patient and what I realized is I have always targeted the joint or area to be treated rather than the person as a whole.

For instance, let’s rewind to the time I was practicing back in India. I have a patient with grade two ankle sprain. I asses him and decide to treat him with certain mobilization technique. His ankle dorsiflexion range gets better the pain persists, so I prescribe some gentle exercises for his ankle and send him away. Now, did I study or try to find a reason for his persistent pain? Did I consider the possibility of central sensitization? Did I think of including proprioceptive input as a form of treatment? Did I do anything new or better for my patient? The answer is NO. Because I did not have an open mind, I lacked the curiosity needed to learn more, to find out more about a condition/treatment.

Let’s fast forward to the day I got on board with the MSc programme. I learned two new things called clinical reasoning and evidence based practice. Two very new unfamiliar terms, but great enough to create a havoc in my mind. Today as I sit here writing this blog I consider that Havoc as a blessing.  I finally know what is lacking in my practice and I feel like I have found the missing piece to my puzzle. This module has forced me to broaden my mind and change my perspective. It has taught me to question myself and find answers for them, to be more inquisitive in everything I do and lastly it has taught me that the area of Physiotherapy and the evidence that supports it is expanding and changing every day, and if I want to be an advanced practitioner it’s about time I started evolving with it.

I’m a fresher and I intend to stay here and keep blogging about what I learn and what I find interesting and obviously get better at this too. Suggestions, feedback and critics are welcome, I’ll be more than happy if you’re another reason for my growth!

So, let’s stay tuned and see what I come up with next!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Stumbling between best of both Worlds- A stepping stone.

  1. Very well written Manasi. Perception does change as we learn and interact with new people. Do not let the curiosity die but nurture it, so you can help reach your goal.

    Like

Leave a comment